
STATE OF TENNESSEE

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
TAXPAYER AND VEHICLE SERVICES DIVISION

VEHICLE SERVICES SECTION

Medium Speed Vehicle Affidavit

Name of Applicant: VIN:
As outlined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-1-125, a vehicle may be registered as a medium speed vehicle if all the following
conditions are met:

• The vehicle's top speed is greater than thirty miles per hour (30 mph) but not more than thirty-five miles per
hour 35 mph)

• The vehicle contains the following required items, as outlined in 49 CFR 571 (Code of Federal Regulations):

Headlamps Parking brake

Stop lamps One exterior minor on the driver's side and one additional
minor, either on the passenger side or in the interior

Front and rear turn signal lamps Windshield that conforms to the Federal motor vehicle safety
standard on glazing materials (49 CFR 571.205)

Tail lamps Seat belts (Type 1 or 2) located at each seating position
Reflex reflectors, one red on each side near Vehicle ID Number (VIN), conforming to 49 CFR 565

the rear and one on the rear

Certification

Under penalties of perjury, I hereby certify that the vehicle whose vehicle identification number (VIN) is shown above is
equipped with the above listed items and meets all safety standards as required by the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration, 49 CFR 571, and the vehicle's top speed is greater than thirty miles per hour (30 mph) but not more than
thirty-five miles per hour (35 mph).

Signature of Certifier Date

IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING MEDIUM SPEED VEHICLES

Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-8-191 allows medium speed vehicles to be operated at a speed not exceeding thirty-five miles
per hour (35 mph) only on streets where the posted speed limit is forty miles per hour (40 mph) or less. A medium
speed vehicle is permitted to cross streets that exceed this forty mile per hour limit.

In the interest of safety, counties in Tennessee or the Tennessee Department of Transportation may prohibit the
operation of medium speed vehicles on any road in its jurisdiction.

Operators of medium speed vehicles must have a Class D driver license in their possession when operation these
vehicles on Tennessee's roads.
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