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CITY STICKERS

As a convenience to city residents, the county clerk’s office is selling city
stickers for Martin, Sharon and Dresden. This was done through a
resolution provided by each of the above cities.

Vehicles, private and commercial which are registered to an address within
the corporate limits of Martin, Sharon or Dresden must display a city sticker
or be subject to a police citation or court fine.

The price for each city varies: Martin $15.00
Sharon $10.00
Dresden $ 9.00



Tag & Title Registrations
Disabled Placard or Plates

Mirror-hang placards or license plates for the permanently disabled are
available when the disability is certified by a licensed physician. Mirror-
hang placards initially cost $21.50 and are valid for two years. They are
renewable every two years for a fee of $3.00. (Requires new
certification) The placard may be used in any vehicle in which the
disabled person is a passenger. A temporary placard is valid for-a period
of six (6) months and is available upon physician certification. Cost of the
temporary placard is $10.00 and can only be renewed one time.
(Requires new certification) Certification is made on a form supplied by
the State Department of Safety. These forms are avarlable from the
County Clerk‘s Off ice.

When aplate is preferred the vehicle owner should bring the completed
State Disabled Application Formto either of the tag and titie offices. If
this special plate is replacing a plate that is still valid the plate must be
surrendered when applying for the disabled tag.

Free plates are authorized only when a physician certifies the applicant is
100% confined to a wheelchair. When the plate is issued by the County
Clerk's office for the first time the applicant may request a free mirror-
-hang placard that is valid for two years.

Need Photo Driver License or other acceptable photo |.D.

Also, when visiting the office please consider donating'a doliar to the
State Organ Donor Awareness Program.




Tag & Title Registrations .
National Guard or Emergency Plates

Emergency or national guard plates are only issued to motorists whose
names are on a list submitted to the County Clerk by either the State
National Guard office or the Emergency Management office. Contact
your particular unit for procedures in establishing your eligibility. Need
Photo Driver License or other acceptable photo 1.D.

Also, when visiting the office please consider donating a doflar to the
State Organ Donor Awareness Program.




Tag & Title Registrations
New TN Residents Titling for First Time

For new residents titling a vehicle in Tennessee for the first time: Please
bring your out-of-state titie and the odometer reading at time of
purchase. If there is a lien, bring a copy of the title or current tag receipt
along with the name, address and zip code of the lien holder. If the titie
was issued in more than one name, both owners must appear unless the
word "or" connects the name of husband and wife. If the word "or"
appears in cases other than ownership by the husband and wife, all
parties must sign the application. If the word "and" connects the owners'
name and only one person is able to visit the motor vehicle office, a
power of attomey form must be executed designating the other owner to

sign-both names.
If vehicle is being leased, you will need the following:

« Original notarized power of attorney from lessor,

o Lessor's Tennessee sales tax leasing number,

o Out of State registration in lessor's name and

« |f vehicle is leased to more than one person, both parties will need
to visit the motor vehicle office.

+ Need Photo Driver License or other acceptable photo 1.D.



Tag & Title Registrations
Odometer Regulations

When titling a vehicle less than ten years old motorists must present an
odometer mileage statement from the selling car dealer or an individual
on the appropriate form. Tennessee tities issued on or after January 1,
1990, have the new format on the back of the-title certificate. Tennessee
tities issued prior to this date provide an invalid odometer format. This
was changed by Federal law, requiring each state to have the same

odometer requirements.

Larger vehicles weighing more than 16,000 pounds are not subject to this
odometer law.

Please note this imporiant exception to the Power of Attorney
designation on your odometer certifications. The exception is: Power of
Attorney designations cannot authorize a person to sign the odometer
certification both as the seller and the buyer of a vehicle.

Also, when visiting the office please consider donating a dollar to the
State Organ Donor Awareness Program.




Tag & Title Registrations
Personalized or Cultural Plates

Generally, personalized and cultural plate applications must be made in
advance to the State office. The standard personalized or college plate
costs $35.00 extra each year in addition to the regular tag registration
fee. A personalized collegiate plate costs an additional $70.00, or a tote!
of $94.00. Some collegiate plates are in stock.

Application forms for personalized and college plates are enclosed in the
renewal notices mailed to motorists before the expiration of their current
registration.

For a personalized tag to be manufactured and returned to the County
Clerk's office by the 25th of any month, the application must reach the
Nashville office by the last day of the preceding month.

Motorists with a valid tag must surrender the tag to the Clerk's office
before being issued the personalized or college plate.



Tag & Title Registrations
Power of Attorney State Law Requirements

State law requires applicants to personally sign vehicle documents. if the
vehicle is to be titled to more than one owner but only one owner makes
application to the County Clerk, then the signature of the other owner
must appear on some other document such as a sales contract, security
agreement, et cetera. If applicants want to permit spouse, child or
another person to sign the state application document a notarized Power
of Attorney form must be executed. Need Photo Driver License or other

acceptable photo 1.D.

Please note this important exception to the Power of Attorney
designation on the odometer certification. The exception is: The Power
of Attorney designation cannot authorize a person to sign the odometer
certification both as the seller and the buyer of the vehicle.

A Commercial Blanket Power of Attorney is used when a business
wishes to authorize representatives to handie transactions or obtain
information relating to company-owned vehicles.




Tag & Title Registrations
Replacement of Lost or Stolen Tags and
Decals

To replace a lost or stolen tag or decal, or both, the registered owner
must bring the tag receipt or the tag number to either of the Tag and Title
offices. If the owner cannot personally transact this business State law
provides that he or she may designate by notarized power of attorney
another person to handie the details. The notarized power of attorney
document must identify the vehicle by make, model and identification
number. Forms are available at the Courthouse



Tag & Title Registrations
Replacing Lost or Damaged Title

" If there is not a lien on a vehicle the owner, or owners, may replace a lost
_ or damaged motor vehicle title by visiting the Caurthouse.

However, for the Clerk's office to issue a replacement title the vehicle
record must be in the State's computer system and eligible for
replacement. Also, the registered owners, when applying, must present
proof of ownership and Photo ID. If a lien is recorded against the vehicle
a discharge of lien must accompany the application.

Mail-In Option:
" Eligibility for mail option: Military Personnel,

Residents and Lienholders making application by mail for Certificate of
* Duplicate Title. .

+ IMPORTANT: To enable automatic-processing please do not photocopy
this form. The bar code at the top of the form must be original. For each
application, a new original must be submitted.

To obtain a replacement Tennessee motor vehicle title, owner(s) please
complete all sections of this application. Application must be signed by
the person(s) whose name(s) appear on the existing title record in boxes
signifying “WRITTEN SIGNATURE OF OWNER(S) AND “SIGNATURE
OF CERTIFIER(S)". Lienholders will need to sign the name of the
lienholder and their name as the individual representative.

Person(s) making application submit copy of driver license(s) or other
acceptable photo 1.D. .

Lienholders must make payment by check drawn on their financial
institution's account, others submit a cashier's check or money order in
the amount of $10.50.

Mail application to:
WEAKLEY CO. CLERK'S OFFICE

P.0. BOX 587
DRESDEN, TN 38225



Tag & Title Registrations
Sales Tax Rates

- State sales tax paid on any vehicles purchased from a licensed dealer in
. any state is fully credited when applying for title. State sales tax is 7% of
the purchase price. For purchases in excess of $1,600, an additional

. - State Tax of 2.75% is added up to a maximum of $44. Local sales tax is

'2.75% and is capped at $‘*4(D ,Local collection fee is $1.

Paying Sales Tax When the Sales Price is Less Than 75% of Fair Market Value
- Jif purchased from [Documentation Needed |Additional Documentation
- {individual orm RV-F1301201(Rev. 5-00) JNone

- |Lineal Relative orm RV-F1301201(Rev. 5-00
.. |(spouse, child, or grandparent)

orporation orm RV-F1301201(Rev. 5-00

Letter on corporation letterhead

[Sample Letter if for Low Price
éahgle L etter if for Gift

~ Without the proper documentation sales tax will be calculated based on
retail value as printed in the NADA value guide.

Sales tax is not normally due on individually owned vehicles already
titied in the applicant's name when relocating from another state.
~ Commercial vehicle applicants must present proof of tax previously paid
'_ on the vehicle. Taxes paid to other states will be credited to local
. liability.

Also, when visiting the office please consider donating a dollar to the
State Organ Donor Awareness Program.




Tag & Title Registrations
Tennessee Residents

Purchasing a Vehicle

If you've just bought a vehicle, or if you're a new Tennessee resident
wanting title information, please review this information.

Please bring Photo Driver License or other acceptable photo I.D. Go
Here for acceptable forms of |.D. when titling a vehicle, applying for a
license plate or transferring a plate from one vehicle to another. State
law requires the applicant or owner to visit the County Clerk's office. If
you can't personally transact this business a representative may be
designated by notarized Power of Attorney. The Power of Attorney must
identify the vehicle bv make, model and identification number. .

If your vehicle is new bring all papers connected with the purchase. This
includes manufacturers statement of origin, or MSO, new car invoice
from dealer, odometer statement, and a security agreement if financed.
If the vehicle was purchased from an individual, please present a
properly signed certificate of title and if the vehicle isn't over ten years
old the odometer statement must be completed on the title where -
specified. If the vehicle is financed bring the security agreement.
Vehicles purchased from individuals may require a special affidavit from
the seller if the sales price does not agree with the NADA vehicle value
guide. You may refer to the NADA's website to determine their value for
your vehicle.

If you wish to transfer your present tag please bring your current tag
receipt or tag number.

Larger vehicles weighing more than 16,000 pounds are exempt from the
odometer law. .

If you bought the vehicle for considerably less than the retail market
value, the seller must sign an Affidavit of Non-Dealer Transfers of Motor
Vehicles and Boats. A form for this purpose may be picked up at

the Courthouse . or downloaded from the link above. If
unable to locate e seiler, a notarized appraisal from a licensed dealer is
acceptable, otherwise tax will be based on the NADA book value.

Transfers from immediate family members may be eligible for tax
exemption. Gifts from non-family members in some cases may also be
tax exempt. However, the State does require a sworn affidavit on exempt
transactions. : :

The State does not permit a corporate transfer without collection of sales
tax, even among family members.

Attention motorists purchasing vehicles in Georgia or Alabama:

Georgia: Does not issue a title on vehicles fifteen model years or older.
Alabama: All 1975 and subsequent year model vehicles are required to
be titled by Alabama residents.

In these cases where a title does not exist the owner must furnish vehicle
registration receipt and notarized bill of sale; also a lien instrument if
there is a lien. If registration is not at least 90 days old, notarized bill of
sale from previous owner of vehicle must also be submitted.

Also, when visiting the office please consider donating a dollar to the
State Organ Donor Awareness Proaram



Tag & Title Registrations
Transfer of Ownership to Surviving Spouse

A surviving spouse must bring a Court Order, vehicle title and odometer
reading to transfer ownership. If a will was not probated a Court Order
will not exist. In this case bring title, odometer reading, and copy of death
certificate. When not probating, the surviving spouse will be required to
sign a simple Affidavit of Inheritance Form when applying fo the Clerk's
Office.

Need Photo Driver License or other acceptable photo 1.D.

When visiting the office please consider donating a dollar to the State
Organ Donor Awareness Program.




Transfer Title of Vehicle Awarded By Court in
a Divorce Settlement

If you are to be awarded a vehicle by divorce decree please have your
attorney present the Court with the year, make, model and vehicle
identification number of the vehicle you are to receive. This information

must be included in the Court Order signed by the presiding judge.

When applying for title in your name please bring a copy of the final
Court Decree signed by the judge and the property settlement
agreement. The Court Clerk's Office which has a record of your d:vorce
can furnish you with a copy of the court order.

Also bring odometer reading, tag number, and title. If there is a lien the
title is held by the financial institution. In this case a form can be printed
from the state computer in our office to complete the transaction.

W
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When visiting the office pllease consider donating a dollar to the State
Organ Donor Awareness Program.




STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY

TITLE & REGISTRATION DIVISION
44 VANTAGE WAY
SUITE 160
NASHVILLE, TN 37243-8050

TRAILER REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

T.C.A. TYPE IN STATE & OUT OF STATE
55-4-111 (c) Boat None *
55-4-111 Camper (Fifth Wheel) Trailer E
55-4-111 Camper (Fold Down/Pop Up) None *
55-4-111 Camper (Permanent Top) Trailer E
55-4-111 (c) Farm (Owned by Farmer and Used for Agricultural None *
Purposes or Hauling Livestock Between Farm and
Market)
55-4-101 (1) (1) (2) | Homemade or Materially Reconstructed Call your County Clerk for details
55-4-111 (¢) Horse None *
55-4-111 Mobile Homes or House Call your County Clerk for details
55-4-111 (d) Rental (Public) Trailer E
55-4-111 Utility (Commercial) Semi
554-111 Utility (Non Commercial) None *

Freight Trailers, Semi-Trailers and Pole Trailers used primarily for hauling freight and Trailers used in the furtherance of
a business would be registered pursuant to T.C.A. 55-4-113 (6) (A)

*If an individual desires a trailer to be titled and registered and the trailer does not exceed eight (8) feet in width and is
less than twenty (20) feet in length exclusive of the tongue, he/she can purchase a Trailer E or Semi Tag. If the trailer is
over eight (8) feet in width and twenty (20) feet in length exclusive of the tongue, he/she must purchase a Semi Tag.



